girl scouts of southwest texas

Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Minutes May 6, 2023 Hybrid: Sally Cheever Girl Scout Leadership Center/Zoom

Board Members in Attendance	Board Members Absent ,	Girl Board Members Absent
Dr. Sarah Baray, Chair	<u>Excused</u>	Audrie Quesnot Torres
Lea Ream, 1 st Vice Chair	Rebecca Brune	Ria Vazir
Sara Brouillard, 2 nd Vice Chair	Carrie Gray	
Gwen Jaramillo, Secretary	Teri Grubb	
Amy Grubbs, Treasurer	Amy Perry	
Luis de la Garza	Erika Prosper	Staff in Attendance
Dr. Gretcha Flinn	Maritza Rodriguez	Gina Abad, CMO
Kim Ford	Amy Shaw	Stephanie Finleon Cortez, CDCO
Lori Johnson Leal		Blythe Simonson, CFO
Michelle Martinez	Ex Officio Girl Board in Attendance	Ed Scott, IT Manager
Makayla Matheson	Erin Bean, Girl Board Chair	Sabrina Rodriguez, Staff
Anthony Medina	Morgan Stone, Girl Board Vice Chair	Leticia Martinez, EA
Monica Moore-Gonzalez	Aliana Flores	
Claudia Smithwick	Anushka Jain	
Dr. Sandi Wolff	Ashley Dudzikowski	
Angie Salinas, CEO, Ex Officio	Ayesha Obhrai	
	Josephine Schultz	
	Mona Ceguera	
	Nicolette Duque	
	Rachel Sherman	

<u>Call to Order</u>: Dr. Baray, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:35 a.m. The meeting was held as a hybrid of both in-person and virtual participants.

Ms. Jaramillo, Secretary, conducted roll call and confirmed quorum.

Dr. Baray, Chair, called for any motions to amend the agenda. Mr. Medina, LRPP Chair, moved to amend the agenda so that the Long Range Property Committee update occur after the Chair update. It was seconded and the motion carried.

Ms. Bean, Girl Board Chair, led the Pledge of Allegiance followed by the Girl Scout Promise. Ms. Bean introduced the new Girl Board members for 2023-24. The Girl Board conducted an investiture ceremony for the newly elected adult Board members Ms. Brouillard and Ms. Matheson.

The following items were presented for approval in the Consent Agenda:

• March 4, 2023 Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Mr. de la Garza moved to approve. It was seconded by Ms. Grubbs and the motion carried.

<u>Chair Update</u> Dr. Baray, Chair, provided opening remarks and shared a focus for the upcoming year.

For the record, she stated the following 2023-2025 appointments she made as Chair in accordance with the bylaws:

- Claudia Smithwick will serve as the Committee Chair for the Board Development Committee.
- Anthony Medina will serve as the Committee Chair for Long Range Property. He will also serve as the Board Member at Large on the Executive Committee.
- Also in accordance with our bylaws, Dr. Baray invited Erin Bean, Girl Board Chair, to participate in Executive Committee meetings for this term.

Provide Engaging Programs for Girls

Mr. Medina, LRPP Chair, provided an update from the Long Range Property Committee.

Attract and Retain a More Diverse Volunteer Base

Ms. Salinas, CEO,(*) presented the Board Development Committee update.

Attract and Retain a More Diverse Volunteer Base (continued)

Ms. Abad, CMO,(**), provided an update on Volunteer Advisory Team.

Increase and Diversify Funding

Ms. Grubbs, Treasurer, delivered the financial report ending March 2023. Ms. Simonson, CFO, presented the Investment Sub-Committee report.

Ms. Brouillard, 2nd Vice Chair, delivered the Fund Development Report for May 6, 2023.

CEO Update

Ms. Salinas, CEO, provided an update on Council activities and membership. There was no new Latinx Update. She reviewed the proposals on the agenda for the National Council Session. She introduced Ms. Abad, the new Chief Mission Officer, for the council.

Ms. Bean, Girl Board Chair, provided an update on Girl Board activities.

New Business and Executive Session

There was no new business.

Ms. Salinas, CEO, moved to adjourn into Executive Session. Ms. Brouillard, 2nd Vice Chair, seconded and the motion carried. The Board adjourned into Session at 10:47 a.m. and reconvened at 11:00 a.m.

Announcements & Adjourn:

The next Board of Directors meeting will be Sat, September 16, 2023 from 9:30 am – 2 pm at Camp La Jita.

The meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

(*) Ms. Salinas presented BDC update on behalf of Ms. Smithwick, BDC Chair, due to tech issues (**) Ms. Brune, VAT Liaison, was excused absent from the meeting.