Board of Director Officers

A volunteer board of directors sets strategic direction for Girl Scouts of Southwest Texas. Board members represent the broad diversity of our council membership and the communities we serve. Members are recommended by a volunteer nominating committee and approved by the council delegates at the annual council meeting. A formal democratic process facilitates communication between the board of directors and the council's membership.

The volunteer board of directors is elected by GSSWT's membership to ensure that the council:

  1. manages its affairs according to state and federal law,
  2. complies with Girl Scouts of the USA charter requirements, and
  3. secures and allocates the resources needed to deliver the Girl Scout program throughout our jurisdiction.


JLGormanChair, Jackie L. Gorman
Jackie L. Gorman is the Executive Director for SAGE (San Antonio for Growth on the Eastside), a nonprofit that serves as the growth engine for San Antonio’s Eastside. Prior to joining SAGE, she was the owner of Ivy Consulting and a senior partner with Allen Austin Executive Search Consultants, where she was the non-profit, government and higher education practice leader. Read more... 

RBroderickGirl Board Chair, Rachel Broderick
Rachel has been a Girl Scout for 10 years, and in that time has earned the Presidential Service Award multiple times and Girl Scout Bronze and Silver awards. She has worked at Girl Scout camp as a Program Aide the last few summers. Since being a Girl Scout Junior, she has helped distribute Resource Rebates at all service unit meetings. Read more...



1st Vice Chair, Jennifer Moriarty
Jennifer Moriarty is the Vice President for Community Development at Wells Fargo Bank. Her responsibilities include managing Wells Fargo Bank’s commitment to the Community Reinvestment Act by ensuring that the bank’s products and services address the needs of diverse communities with emphasis on the unmet needs of low- and moderate-income individuals through affordable housing, financing for small business, job training programs and other initiatives that revitalize or stabilize low- and moderate-income communities. Read more...

MHenrich2nd Vice Chair, Mary Henrich
Mary Henrich grew up in Richardson, Texas, and received a BA degree in Psychology from the University of Texas and a JD degree from the University of Houston. She began practicing law in Houston as a tax attorney with a large law firm. Read more... 
BAvilaWilliam T. "Bill" Avila
Bill Avila has been a member of the board since 2007 and has served on the Board Development Committee (2009-2010), Executive Committee (2008-2009 and 2011-2012), Finance Committee (2007-2009) and Investment Committee (2011-2012) for GSSWT. He was a member of the Nominating Committee from 2005-2007. Bill is  a Partner in the San Antonio office of the law firm of Bracewell & Giuliani, LLP. Read more...
JFrazierTreasurer, Jeannie Frazier
Jeannie Frazier is the Vice President for Administration and Finance and Chief Financial Officer at the Southwest Foundation for Biomedical Research in San Antonio. Her responsibilities include all accounting functions, treasury, payroll, finance IT, purchasing, human resources and environmental health and safety. Prior to joining SFBR late in 2006, she worked in non-profit healthcare finance for 24 years, primarily for urban teaching facilities. Read more...

Executive Team

Interim Chief Executive Officer, Jody Shaw Hernandez

Chief Development & Communications Officer, Stephanie A. Finleon

Interim Chief Operating Officer, Lisa Garcia

Chief Financial Officer, Blythe Simonson



Terri Benoit Dr. Arcelia Johnson-Fannin
Jelynne LeBlanc Burley Kathleen Krueger
Cece Cheever Nancy Ozuna
Deena Clausen Maritza Rodriguez
Heather Davis Sandy Schlortt
Luis de la Garza Dr. Velma Villegas
Kelly Faglie Teri Wenglein
Leah D. Flores  
Ramon Flores  


Ex Officio Girl Board Members

Girl Board Chair, Rachel Broderick Olivia M. (Blue GO Team)
Serena C. (Pink GO Team) Cerina M. (Blue GO Team)
Dayna G. (Purple GO Team) Chloe R. (Yellow GO Team)
Amanda G. (Yellow GO Team) Rini T. (Orange GO Team)


Board Development Committee

Board development committee members are elected by GSSWT's membership to recommend candidates for the board of directors and the board development committee. The board development committee presents the following for delegate vote at every annual council meeting:

    1. a single slate of nominees for officers of the council;
    2. a single slate of nominees for directors; and
    3. a single slate of nominees for members of the nominating committee.

Every three years, the board development committee also presents a single slate of regional delegates and regional delegate alternates.

GSSWT accepts potential board member and nominating committee member referrals year-round for a single slate presented at our annual council meeting. We place a high priority on recruiting women and men from diverse geographic and racial/ethnic communities. 

Deena Clausen Victoria Garcia
Heather Davis Dr. Arcelia Johnson-Fannin
Angelica Docog Jennifer Moriarty
Leah D. Flores Janet Putman
Ramon Flores Dr. Marian Suarez

Our Partners

TrefoilLevelSponsors 2014 2015

Girl Scout Mission

Girl Scouting builds girls of courage, confidence and character, who make the world a better place.

GS SW TEXAS servicemark WhtProfiles-200-2

Girl Scout Promise

On my honor, I will try:
to serve God and my country,
to help people at all times,
and to live by the Girl Scout Law

UnitedWay Make-a-Difference-with-logo

Our Locations

Sally Cheever Girl Scout Leadership Center
811 N. Coker Loop
San Antonio, Texas 78216
Tel: 210-349-2404


West Side Girl Scout Leadership Center
5622 Cesar Chavez Way
San Antonio, TX 78237
Tel: 210-319-5775