

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Meeting Minutes - May 4, 2024 Hybrid: Sally Cheever Girl Scout Leadership Center/Zoom

Board Members in Attendance Board Members Absent,

Excused Ex Officio Girl Board Absent Dr. Sarah Baray, Chair Rachel Sherman, Girl Board Chair Lea Ream, 1st Vice Chair Teri Grubb

Sara Brouillard, 2nd Vice Chair Amy Grubbs, Treasurer

Gwendolyn Jaramillo, Secretary Rebecca Brune Luis de la Garza Anthony Medina Dr. Gretcha Flinn Maritza Rodriguez

Kim Ford Claudia Smithwick Monica Gonzalez

Ex Officio Girl Board in Attendance Carrie Gray

Aliana Flores, Girl Board Vice Chair Dr. Cindy Johnston

Lori Johnson Leal Milana Dudley Michelle Martinez Ashley Dudzikowski Makayla Matheson Nicolette Duque Amy Perry Amaya Hill Erika Prosper Anushka Jain

Amy Shaw Karina Jo Leija Dr. Atikah Shemshack Tristyn Myrick Annie Uribe Turner Ayesha Obhrai Dr. Sandi Wolff Wendy Sauceda Angie Salinas, CEO, Ex Officio Chloe Verducci

Staff & Guests in Attendance

Gina Abad, CMO

Stephanie Finleon Cortez, CDCO

Blythe Simonson, CFO

Cindy Lira, Director of Girl Experience

Ed Scott, IT Manager Leticia Martinez, EA

<u>Call to Order:</u> Ms. Ream, 1st Vice Chair (*), called the meeting to order at 9:38 a.m. The meeting was held as a hybrid of both in-person and virtual participants.

Ms. Jaramillo, Secretary, conducted roll call and confirmed quorum. There were no motions to amend the agenda.

Ms. Ream shared opening remarks and pre-recorded message from Ms Sherman, Girl Board Chair.

Ms. Flores, Girl Board Vice Chair (*), led the Pledge of Allegiance followed by the Girl Scout Promise and Mission. She introduced the new Girl Board members for 2024-25. The Girl Board conducted an investiture ceremony for the newly elected adult Board members Dr. Johnston and Dr. Shemshack.

The following items were presented for approval in the Consent Agenda:

March 2, 2024 Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Minutes

Mr. de la Garza moved to approve. It was seconded by Ms. Ream and the motion carried.

<u>Chair Update</u> Dr. Baray, Chair, provided welcome remarks. For the record, she stated the following actions made as Chair in accordance with the bylaws:

 Dr. Baray invited Rachel Sherman, Girl Board Chair, to participate in Executive Committee meetings for this term.

She made the following Board members to serve as liaisons for each of the council's geographic areas. Liaisons will meet no less than annually in person with volunteers in the specific area to which they are assigned:

- Area 1: Maritza Rodriguez
- Area 2: Michelle Martinez
- Area 3: Annie Uribe Turner
- Area 4: Amy Perry
- Area 5: Dr. Sandi Wolff
- Area 6: Makayla Matheson

Attract and Retain a More Diverse Volunteer Base

Ms. Smithwick, BDC Chair, provided an update from the Board Development Committee.

Ms. Abad, CMO (*), provided an update on Volunteer Advisory Team. The annual Volunteer Recognition Awards ceremony was held in January. Ms. Abad acknowledged the Board members who were honored:

- Honor Pin: Carrie Gray and Annie Uribe Turner
- Daisy Pin: Amy Shaw and Lea Ream
 - Previous Board Members Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison and Brian Oley were also recipients

Increase and Diversify Funding

Ms. Simonson, CFO (*), delivered the financial report ending February 2024. There was no new Investment Sub-Committee report.

Ms. Finleon Cortez, CDCO (*), delivered the Fund Development Report.

Provide Engaging Programs for Girls

Ms. Finleon Cortez (*), CDCO, delivered the Long Range Property report including an update of the Backyard Project.

CEO Update

Ms. Salinas, CEO, shared appreciation for the Board's support of the council. She welcomed the following Girl Scouts to share projects conducted in honor of Centennial:

Troop 882 presented recognition items and gifts:

 Congratulatory Resolution from State of Texas House Representatives, recognizing our council's contributions over the past 100 years. Sponsored by the council's House Representative, Steve Allison of District 121.

- Proclamation Number 93 from Texas State Senate; recognizing GSSWT. It is sponsored by our Senator, Donna Campbell of District 25 and Senator Judith Zaffrini, District 21.
- Texas flag that was flown over the Capitol on March 11, 2024 in celebration of GSSWT 100th anniversary.
- Official letter of recognition and best wishes from the Governor of Texas, Greg Abbott and the First Lady of Texas, Cecilia Abbott.

Ms. Priscilla Mayfield, 10+ year Volunteer and Lifetime Member

• Shared display of a quilt project conducted for girls at the annual Mother Daughter Tea hosted by the African American Advisory Committee

Ms. Salinas, CEO, deferred time to Ms. Prosper, Latinx Committee Chair, who provided an update on LatinX initiatives.

Ms. Salinas, CEO, deferred time to Ms. Finleon Cortez, CDCO, who provided an update on Centennial planning.

Ms. Salinas, CEO, provided an update on Council activities. There was no new Girl Board update.

New Business and Executive Session

There was no new business or items for Executive Session.

Announcements & Adjourn:

Next meeting: Board Retreat: September 21, 2024 from 9:30 a.m. - 2 p.m., Location TBA

Meeting adjourned 11:25 a.m.

(*)

- Dr. Baray, Chair, was delayed slightly due to unforeseen circumstances.
- Ms. Sherman, Girl Board chair, was excused absent for meeting.
- C-Suite presented reports on behalf of committee chairs who were excused absent for meeting.